10 Alternative Wedding Songs To Walk Down the Aisle To

Illustrated Post Card

I owe Steph a lot – not only does she provide regular awesome inspiration at her blog Little Observationist and regularly provide me with excellent food at her flat, along with Jorge, but she introduced me and Mr Story. So, when I saw her recently, and she briefly mentioned she was having trouble finding the perfect music to walk down the aisle to, it was all I could do to think of some ideas. I spent a little while on Spotify finding songs I’d forgotten about, and I’ve put together the following list of possibilities. I also discovered an awesome album of Buddy Holly covers, apart from the Paul McCartney bit. Can someone just restrain Macca from joining in with everything?

Anyway, back to songs to walk down the aisle to. You might be able to tell from the list, I know nothing, nada, nowt about classical music, so these are all songs with lyrics, rather than instrumentals or pieces of classical.

1. No Fear of Falling by I Am Kloot

I love I Am Kloot. They make utterly beautiful music. Go and see them if you can. Otherwise this is beautiful, clear, quiet, melodic piece, perfect to reflect the hush and surge of emotion as you walk down the aisle.

2. You Can’t Hurry Love – The Supremes

This choice might be a dangerous for bounding down the aisle at speed, but I like to picture a congregation all joining in at the tops of their voices! How could you not grin from ear to ear, relax and sing as you bounce down the aisle to this.

3. Fell In Love With A Girl – by The White Stripes

A perfect choice to make a huge noisy rock entrance. Definitely not for everyone by any stretch of the imagination, but if you timed it right and appeared at the top of the aisle at the beginning of the song, your entrance would be truly memorable! Plus great air-guitar possibilities.

4. We’re Going to Be Friends – by The White Stripes

Another Stripes song, but completely different. This almost spoken song about childhood and friendship is sweet and nostalgic – perfect for childhood sweethearts.

5. Sea of Love – by Cat Power

This is one of my favourites. I can only imagine the beauty of hearing her voice echo around your venue as you step slowly up the aisle. The lyrics are apt and it’s such a beautiful song to hold the memories of that moment. To me, it’s perfect.

6. Say Yes – by Elliott Smith

Elliott’s voice is full of emotion and unforgettable. This is another choice that would allow you to walk slowly and calmly down the aisle, to the sound of a voice and a guitar, with little else needed. There is a little swearing though, so do take care if it will play for a few minutes for any reason and your family and friends are the types to notice swearing, and then to mind.

7. Dearest – by Buddy Holly

Ok, ok, I said that Cat Power was perfect, but Buddy Holly is too! I love him and his music makes me smile. It’s an upbeat choice, but without being too rocky or loud, and with the loveliest lyrics. It also benefits from starting with the lyric ‘Dearest’ early on, so you don’t have to wait for a chorus to get to the message of the song, by which time you’ll already have reached the end of your aisle.

8. At Last – by Etta James

Do you want to feel like a glamorous film star? Then here’s your choice. Slow, sure and sultry, it’ll make you sashay slowly down the aisle, enjoying every moment. Again, the force of the song is all at the beginning, so it packs a punch from your entrance. The lyrics are gorgeous too, although if there’s any family joking about the time taken for you to get wed, then perhaps reconsider, afterall, you want it sound romantic, not impatient.

9. One Love – by Bob Marley and The Wailers

When I was a kid, I went to a wedding with this as the first dance song, and general theme song, although I’m not sure the bride walked down the aisle to it. It can definitely be counted on to make your guests smile, sway and probably join in. It has a really relaxed feel, full of joy, so best for an informal summer party wedding.

10.God Only Knows – by The Beach Boys

What can I say? An enduring love song with gorgeous overlapping vocals, lovely melody and additional opportunity for foot-tapping along for your guests, what’s not to love?

 

What do you think of my suggestions? Good choices or terrible? What did you walk down the aisle to? Have you got any tips for Steph, for finding that perfect song?

If you’d like some more ideas of alternative songs to walk down the aisle to, I’ve come up with another five ideas here! 

 

5 thoughts on “10 Alternative Wedding Songs To Walk Down the Aisle To

  1. Pingback: This Week I Have Been Mostly… | The Story House

  2. Must say, you have nice taste of songs. During my wedding, last month, I had asked the music performers (Live Music Management) to play the song “Sea of Love” when I was walking down the aisle; it felt amazing. Thanks for sharing the list, it will be helpful for the couple who might be facing difficulty in selecting the perfect song!!!

  3. Pingback: 5 More Alternative Songs to Walk Down the Aisle To | The Story House

  4. At my daughters wedding the bridemaids walked to Pinks Glitter in the Air and my fabulous daughter and her father came floating down the aisle to Johnathan Cains Wedding March it was perfect for my my daughters formal wedding, ball gown with just the right amount of rock and roll. The recessional was Wedding March Electric Guitar setting the perfect tone for her traditional italian wedding that we always new we would be giving her.

Leave a Reply

