Chocohol-tastic

I do love chocolate – pralines are obviously the best, and anyone who eats liqueurs with happiness is off their trolley. But there are some things better, or at least as good as, a box full of pralines.

You Are My Favourite with Chocolates

I know chocolate is meant to be a particularly female foible, but I disagree.

I do love a tasty bit of chocolate, especially when combined with a cup of tea and a sofa, in my work dead hours between 4 o’clock to 6 o’clock in the afternoon. I can work early and I can work late, and often do one of the two, but there’s something about the hours of mid-afternoon that makes my brain drift off gently into the realms of utter inability to focus. Even in a long hours office job, my lunch hour would often get shifted further and further back until 3 or 4 o’clock, and it often coincided with my thoughts beginning to wander – although that could have been the need for lunch.

I think it’s either a habit formed from the end of school, or maybe the double stints of ER that I watched for two hours in the afternoon throughout my second year of university, as an unrelenting and glorious habit – oh the lovely Noah Wyle and Dr Kovac.

So while I do like a good dose of the choc stuff, but my cravings tend to be for tea, starch or, most of the time, salt. I tend to crave big slices of toast with salty white butter melting over it, thickly spread with marmite, bowls of spaghetti with a savoury smattering of Parmesan, or the salt and vinegary tang of pickles. Mr Story, on the other hand, and his brothers, have the biggest taste for chocolate you’re ever likely to come across. Since I’ve noticed that, I have spotted all sorts of salt loving women and sweet-toothed men, putting the stereotype to shame. But then, there’s all sorts of good things that come out of combing the two, like chocolate pretzels, with big chunks of salt, and salted caramel. Yum!

You are the sweetest thing with envelope

Chocolates, and Mr Story’s love for them, were the inspiration behind my greetings cards, ‘You are My Favourite’ and ‘You are the Sweetest Thing’. Once I’d drawn out the design, I had such a lovely time working with the glorious dark chocolate tones, and decorating them with thick swooshes of white chocolate, using muted pinks to create the foil, and having fun ‘decorating’ each chocolate in turn.

You Are the Sweetest Thing Plain Rectangle

I loved using the thick chocolate tones to hand-write the messages, without them being too sugary sweet themselves. A touching message for the favourite, or sweetest person, in your life. If you’d like to, you can buy ‘You Are My Favourite’, or ‘You Are The Sweetest Thing’ – perfect for Valentine’s Day, an anniversary or just to tell someone how you feel.

If you’d like to buy them, you can go to my Etsy Shop.

Or you can go to Not On the High Street, and buy ‘You Are The Sweetest Thing’ or ‘You Are My Favourite‘ along with lots of other things.

 

 

