We have a Winner

When I was thinking of a competition, and I decided to ask entrants to tell me about a place that really meant something to them, I hoped for touching stories or entries with a lot thought. The entries I received were beyond all my wildest wishes – I love reading them. If you haven’t read them, have a look down this list of entries.

In fact, I loved them so much, and I had met or been in communication with quite a few of the entrants, I thought it wouldn’t be fair or impartial, or actually here’s the truth, possible, for me to pick a winner. I had planned to ask Mr Moll for his opinion in the results, but decided in fact, he was the kind of upstanding man to make an upstanding decision about the results.

So I sat him down on the sofa, and he thoughtfully read the entries. And he decided…..the winner is….(drum roll please)…

Jules!

Congratulations Jules. If you want to learn more about her and read her lovely blog, have a click here.

For those of you who want to know more, this is the winning entry –

I would love them to be made out of a map of the Isle of Skye. When I was 19 years old I met my partner (we’ll have been together for 11 years this year) but the first part of our romance was difficult as he had to go to Scotland on a course for over a month. I missed him terribly. We wrote letters back and forth pretty much every day for two weeks and then a letter arrived with a coach ticket for me to travel up and see him. I was really nervous about travelling all the way from Devon to the very top of Scotland but I did it! When I arrived at the bed and breakfast he’d booked for me and we saw each other for the first time in weeks we just laughed and cuddled and I knew that he was the one for me. I’d never missed anyone so much. He decided to quit the course he was doing and we went travelling around Scotland together. Our last port of call was the Isle of Skye and it was the most beautiful place. I have such wonderful memories of being there…

You can see why Mr Moll liked it so much, can’t you? It has many brilliant bits – the letter writing, the long journey and the laughter. I love the fact the course was quit, and you took your chance to travel around Scotland. Beautiful. Well done.

Leave a Reply

