A Most Curious Wedding Affair

So Saturday was quite a day. By 5pm I’d nearly lost my voice, and had imparted paper rose making wisdom to forty brides, friends and others. I’d spoken to numerous couples about storybook invitations, hen party workshops and had a quick perve at all the other stalls. By 6.30pm, I was postrate on the sofa, with broccoli pizza, admiring the 90’s fashion and Portishead and Space soundtrack on a Cold Feet repeat, exhausted in a content kind of fashion.

I had spent the day at a Most Curious Wedding Affair, a wedding fair at York Hall in Bethnal Green, East London. I was invited along to run paper rose workshops and have a stall too. It’s a fair run by the lovely Gemma and Becky of A Most Curious Party events.

I used to live only a few minutes stumble from York Hall, a late 1920’s building with requisite beaut of a wooden floored hall, plus spa and swimming pool with (excitingly for London) actually hot showers. Now however, I have moved oh-so-conveniently to the other side of the capital. Luckily Mr Moll was kind enough to come along for the ride to give me a hand and take these photos and life-savingly, look after the stall while I got a cup of tea before the fair opened, before he headed for work.

I was next to Sam of The Paper Pom Store, and what with those delicate tissue pom poms, laser cut paper flowers from Suzi McLaughlin, and paper cuts from Gemma and Poppy Chancellor, and crafty goodness from I Like Pens, my love of paper was beautifully indulged, in the five minutes I spent with tea in hand, looking at the other stalls.

Then, from 11.15 onwards, it was all rush. I was speaking to couples at the stall and holding workshops all day. I have said, in a previous post, that the best ideas come from other people, and it’s true. I’ve spoken to lots of couples who love the illustrated stories, but already have invitations. They’ve asked if it’s possible to have the stories as books at the centre of their tables, as stands on their drinks tables, or mounted on their venue walls. I can’t wait to work out the logistics of all these ideas. They’re definitely possible, and better still, new and exciting.

As well as being on the stall, about every 45 minutes throughout the day, I held workshops on how to make paper roses. They were extremely popular, and talking through the process each time, hoarsened my voice. It was definitely worth it though; the feedback was brilliant.  About forty people left the craft table, each with a stemmed rose or brooch. My favourite styling award has to go to the lovely lady that used a 1970’s teen magazine to make a David Bowie rose – his face on each of the layers.  Bonus points to the lady whose rose matched exactly the outfit she was already wearing. It also made me laugh that the one gentleman who braved the craft table all day added a huge stamen to the centre of his already flamboyant flower. Freud would have been proud.

There were interviewees and people filming the workshops, who I wittered on to too, tea and cake, and one bride who said (if you don’t like gush, look away now), I was ‘the nicest person [t]here’. And I also managed to learn a valuable lesson – don’t take irons that still have water in them home in a bag made of paper. Good lesson, don’t you think? Very nearly a motto. But if you do, someone in the tube station will help you out. Thank you to that lady. Also, if you’re someone who took part in the workshops, and you make your own roses for your wedding or any other event, do send me some photos – I’d love to see em!

Tea, people, cake, workshops and paper, and a lesson – what more could you ask for, eh?

Leave a Reply

