The Wedding Craft Pound Shop Challenge Part Two

It was a rainy Sunday yesterday. I took it lazily, with home-made bread toast with Marmite and egg, going back to bed to read a big library book, and heading out only once lunchtime had passed, braving the rain and puddles in unsuitable shoes to buy ingredients for a Sunday mash and gravy lunch, and a quick trip to the Pound Shop.

Again, I didn’t know if I’d find anything, or have a particular idea in mind. Wandering about, I found a packet of pegs and thought it would be nice to try and create some kind of sign, with letters pegged up. Then I found a pack of two multi-layered coat hangers, the kind to hang multiple pairs of trousers or skirts, that I thought would be perfect to hold the letters.

So I bought –

A pack of two coat hangers

A pack of fifty wooden clothes pegs

And I contributed acrylic paints and paintbrush and paper for letters.

I honestly think that if you’re putting together a variety of wedding details on a budget, then white paint and a bit of white cotton ribbon should be your best friends. You can transform anything, pegs, cheap picture frames, or blackboards, with a lick of white paint. Cotton ribbon is a brilliant way of making things look finished, pretty, and tying it all together. Of course, I’m a big fan of paper – covering boxes, signs and packets with map, brown paper, music or newspaper is also transformative – but I’ll admit that I am a little biased in this respect. I think paper is lovely.

But back to business. To make your very own peg sign –

  • Paint the coat hanger with white paint. This will take a couple of coats, or even three, if you want a really clean matt finish. Paint without using water to give the best finish and give each layer a chance to dry before you paint the next one. It gives you a good chance to have a nice cuppa in between stages. However, if you like the colour underneath, you can try it with just one coat, slightly revealing the underneath colour and giving a more textured appearance
  • Paint the pegs white. For this I used a more watery mix – I was looking for a white-washed look, taking the edge of the bright colour of the wood, rather than a matt finish. You can ignore this stage altogether, or paint them all matt white, or all different colours. The choice, as Graham from Blind Date used to say, is yours.

  • Paint patterns on to the pegs. You can use your colour scheme colours. I rather like the random colour and pattern combination. If you are doing a random combination, then I recommend getting someone to help you out. With more people getting involved, you tend to get a greater variety of style and colour. I tried to get Mr Moll involved. He mixed a lovely colour, painted one peg, and then left me to it. He did take all the photos, for which I am very grateful.

  • While the pegs and coat hangers are drying, you can paint your letters. I literally took a craft knife to an A3 piece of paper and cut out squares and rectangles randomly; the lack of measuring is always an advantage of going for the random and crafty look. If you do want a particular phrase, then it would be best to do a bit of measuring to ensure all the letters fit. Of course, if you want your letters to be regular and neat, then get out your steel ruler and get going. I’ve done a traditional ‘Congratulations’, but I think that the names of the happy couple would be lovely, or perhaps a series of signs with information about the day – times of events or perhaps directional signs with arrows as well as letters.
  • When all the painted separate pieces are dry, it’s just a matter of pegging the letters to the coat hanger. I’ve pegged the second layer of letters with the pegs at the bottom, because I didn’t want the pegs to overlap with the letters too much. But again, it all depends on how you want your sign to look.
  • And the final product –

And the finishing touch? A little bit of that white cotton ribbon at the top.

Leave a Reply

