I’ve got love for the 70s

In general, I tend to get excited about finding magazines and paper from 1920’s, 30’s, 40’s and 50’s. I love the clear drawn lines of the illustration of flapper dress and cloche hats from the 1920’s and 30’s magazines (a moment’s pause to remember and drool over the clothes from The Artist), and the colour, skirts and patterns of the 50’s. Today’s post has a slightly different theme then, with images from the excellently-named Petticoat magazine from 1972.

I was on the hunt for some maps to make some flowers for a wedding order, and I discovered a charity shop haven in West Hampstead – a lovely cluster of shops for the treasure hunter. I didn’t find any maps in the end, but I did come across Petticoat magazine, with a bunch of brilliant 1970’s fashion images.

Now, as mentioned above, I am generally drawn to fashion and magazines of a bit of an older vintage…or so I thought, until I actually thought about it properly. And then I remember being 15 and 16. My favourite coat was a H&M glory of orange check with a fur trim (not as bad as it sounds, promise), I had a love of berets, a huge long stripy scarf courtesy of my school friends and an amazing pair of denim flares, bought on a trip to Arizona to visit family.

I wore the flares on the French exchange, quite a sight I imagine – the French students stuck rigidly to the uniform of tight trousers, big trainers, puffa jackets and repeated application of eyeliner. At the time, raised on a diet of All Saints inspired combat trousers and an apparent love of flares, the sight of a school full of skin tight jeans was memorably strange – and that’s a statement from a person who owned and loved a checked orange coat. Ah – the days before jeggings and Russell Brand, how did we manage?

So yes, despite my brain previously gently photoshopping out memories of my 70s inspired fashion incidents, I’ve got love for the 70’s. And looking at these, don’t you too?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “I’ve got love for the 70s

  1. French exchange and flares are not two phrases you’d expect to go together, but oh how they did.

Leave a Reply

