Memories are made

In our house,  cards were always hand-made.  Whether it was for the  special care and attention that went into making them, or the purely practical fact that the nearest shop with cards was at least a half hour drive away, on Mother’s day or birthdays, out came the felt tips, colouring pencils or paints. This continued long past the cute scribbly drawing phase, and into adulthood. I have different memories of doing this; I remember one birthday where I decided to have the letters ‘Happy Birthday’ to pop out from inside the card. Colouring each and every letter and the cutting out took me all day. The card was only handed over in the evening after an intensive day of colouring, and presumably little time to spend with the family member whose birthday it was. I also remember using a picture of  Tommy from the Rugrats as inspiration for a card that threatened my Dad with an image of what he would be looking like imminently, in his old age, as he turned 40.

So, like thumb-sucking, this is a habit I have failed to shake off. Apart from making Moll and Mostin cards, up until recently I was still painting cards for friends and family.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This card was discovered as my friend Lizzy was doing a clear out. I had completely forgotten about its existence. It’s not the neatest example of the genre, but perhaps one of the original story book cards, like the invitations I make now. I wonder how many cards there are, hanging around the ether, that I’ve made and have forgotten. The answer is probably quite a few, since my memory for this type of thing isn’t all that hot.

Excitingly, I am also about to start designing a party invitation for the lovely Lizzy and Ryan. I’ll update when it’s designed, printed and sent out. So in quite a while then!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Memories are made

  1. Pingback: Week Five: Pumpkin Carving « 52 Skills

Leave a Reply

