Help needed!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hello ladies and gents. Today I’m requesting a bit of advice. Let me explain.

As I have been blathering on about for a while, I’ve been moving house. Good news – I’m nearly done. The other good news? Well, I’ve rediscovered lots of clothes I’d forgotten I had. Always the way isn’t it? Wearing the same things all the time and losinglots of fogotten treasures in the clothes Narnia at the back of the wardrobe.

One of the dresses I’ve rediscovered, that I never really forgot I had, was a present from my Great Aunt Margie. In actual fact the Great Aunt Margie whose nickname at school was Mostin. She’s a great scouter for treasures, loves a charity shop and particularly an auction, although this dress I think was found a little dress shop. She spent a lot of time chosing it for me and we were both excited when I finally made a trip to her house and picked it up. But that was about a year ago now.

So where’s the need for help? Well, I haven’t worn it. That’s my challenge and I need some advice on two counts.

1) Where in London or in travelling distance of London can I wear a sparkly dress? Where is formal and fun enough so I don’t feel overdressed?

2) How should I wear it? One of the reasons I haven’t worn it yet, other than not having a good event, is that I don’t know how to style myself in this type of dress. Give me a 50s style dress with a big skirt, then I know what to do. This dress flummoxes me in how to wear it.

The dress hangs to my ankles, not quite to the floor. My upper arms suffer from british pink speckled appearence. It’s not very fitted and tends to hang. Can I get away with a belt?

So please, ladies and gents, some advice. Hair? Accessories? Jewellery? Any other ideas for styling? Send me your ideas, send me links to pictures. This dress deserves an outing and a Great Aunt deserves some nice photos of said outing. Help!

2 thoughts on “Help needed!

  1. Can’t see pictures very well…but you could ‘rough’ it up with boots, messy hair and belt? You’re OK at altering dresses aren’t you? length wise? Or take it to seamstress to have it adapted to your shape if you don’t think it’s fitted enough. Anyway, those are my ramblings for the day! Enjoy your fashion adventure!

  2. Thanks Lell! Roughing it up – black boots or wedges and a fitted jacket seem to be the general advice here and on twitter. And as if I could achieve anything other than messy hair! 😀 Well, I’ll keep working on it. I also have to find somewhere to wear it!

Leave a Reply

