Designers Makers Mark II


At about 9.30am on Saturday morning, I had a profound, if obvious realisation, that all my products are made from paper. Half way to the bus stop, carrying bags of boxes, cards and other papery items, the heavens opened. It had been building for a couple of days. It was big, fat summer rain of relief, and in any other circumstances I would have been running about in it. That’s not a romantic imagining either, it has been done; once around the university campus before realising I was wearing a nighty that was rapidly becoming transparent.

Nothing quite focuses your mind on the fragility of paper contained in not-quite-water-proof-enough bags, as much as pouring rain. The other worry was of course that I was about to spend my market day watching rain fall, while potential customers stayed at home where it was warm and dry. Luckily I had a big bunch of plastic bags, which I tucked around everything I could, and used my extra market clothing to plug the other gaps. By the time we got off the bus at the other end, the sky was clear. If we hadn’t been rather sodden, it would have almost been as if we had imagined it.

This market was extra exciting. I spent last week developing some new products and I really wanted to see the reaction to them. It’s difficult, when you’re squirreled away in a room, cutting up paper and ill-advisally waving glue guns around, to tell if people are going to like the things you make.

I originally developed my range of gift boxes to make use of the fantastic vintage images that were too big for cards. Some of the larger boxes are covered by magazine covers or double page spreads. I’m so glad I can use them, because they’re beautiful, and sometimes hilarious. Similarly there are some images that are too small for card, and at the suggestion ofย  lovely Mr Moll, I used these to make some book marks.



The other thing I’ve been making this week (nearly a Fast Show reference there), is paper roses. I went to the the Book and Comic Exchange in Notting Hill on the hunt for some magazines. It’s a treasure trove and rifling through the stacks of magazines and books is an excellent way to use up time. I found some very familiar comics – some Dandys from the late 80s and early 90s – about the time I would have been walking to the local shop. My sister would get The Beano (she was born first, so she got to choose), and a Twister or maybe a Funny Feet ice cream and I would get The Dandy and a Secret chocolate bar. I bought a few of those, and some other, older art periodicals, and used them to make some paper roses.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From these, I made some garlands of flowers, and some hair pieces. I think they turned out really well. In fact, I’m going to work on the hairpieces to wear to a special wedding in a week and a half. You’ll hear a lot more about that in the near future. I’ve made a lot of things for it, and can’t wait to tell you all about it.

Also, excitingly, I have had the first enquiry into my offer for free bespoke, handmade invitations. I’m working on developing those at the moment. Remember, if you, or anyone you know, has a special event coming up, let me know, and I’ll design some storybook -style invitations for you – completely free!

5 thoughts on “Designers Makers Mark II

  1. Yes! Every time I hear anything about your sister’s wedding I get more and more stoked for it. BTW you are of course welcome to use any pictures that I take (as long as it’s okay with her). I’m so excited to see more of your work. Those flowers are gorgeous!

  2. Hi Steph – I’ll pop a bookmark in with a present from London. It’ll wing it’s way to Colombia. It’ll be nice to think of something I’ve made in beautiful rural america latina. I’m slightly obsessed with the Book and Comic Exchange. This whole thing is just an excuse to spend more time in second hand book shops ๐Ÿ˜€ x

  3. Hi Lauren,
    – Thanks for the offer of the use of the photos. Your photos are so blummin gorgeous, I’m sure I’ll take you up on it. Have been pouring over some of your previous weddings. Hope our crafting efforts are up to form ๐Ÿ˜€ Very excited. See you soon! x

  4. oh my goodness Lucy, these are so beautiful. The hair pieces are fabulous! Tom was right, these will be perfect for Speak to Strangers and I’m excited to see what you will do. Speak soon, Gemma

Leave a Reply

