Designers Makers Market

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There’s something I really like about the atmosphere of a market. Once the difficult business of dragging yourself out of bed is done, it feels good to be up and about and being around other people who have also got up early in preparation, and are also absorbed by the business of setting up the stall.

I like the lull between being set up and when customers start arriving. It generally involves a cup of tea, something to eat and the opportunity to go around and look at what every one else is selling. I could have spent quite enormous quantities of dosh at the designers/makers market. It sounds like shameless advertising, but I fell in love with a great many things on the other stalls at the market. Special mention goes to Helen Steel, Yeyah, Emily Bucknell and James Brown. I’m rather jealous of all the print makers, and need to get myself back into a silk screen printing studio one day soon, and re-learn what the Dalston Print Club taught me.

The market is every Saturday and everything is handmade and original. It makes a nice change from looking at the same series of dresses and t shirts repeatedly, knowing you can get the same thing in Spitalfields, Camden and Notting Hill.

I really enjoyed myself – sitting at the stall and getting a really positive reaction to my cards and boxes, eating treats from nearby Broadway Market and sewing bunting for a party. Sounds like near on the perfect Saturday.  Hope to see you there soon. I’m next there on 7th May.

Leave a Reply

